Plants of the UK Overseas Territories

The UK Overseas Territories are 14 groups of islands scattered across all seven seas. The Territories are home to every major vegetation type on earth, from kelp forests to rainforests, deserts to tropical dry forest, cacti gardens to tundra and barren moss and lichen covered rocks of Antarctica. Dozens of extremely rare and endangered plant species occur on the Territories and nowhere else on earth. This mini-documentary explores this astounding diversity of plants, and some of the conservation efforts that are being undertaken to safeguard the plantlife of the Overseas Territories for the future.

Please note: although complementary to the BBC FOUR series, the 40 short mini-documentaries are not commissioned or editorially overseen by BBC.

The three-part Britain’s Treasure Islands documentary series was broadcast on BBC FOUR on Tue 12 Apr 2016 21:00. (repeated Wed 13 Apr 2016 20:00). Contact to get passworded access to view a non-downloadable version of the broadcast programme online.