Pitcairn Islands – wildlife and heritage

This mini-documentary explores the wildlife and heritage of the Pitcairn Islands – the only UK Overseas Territory in the Pacific Ocean. The Pitcairn Islands comprise four islands (Pitcairn, Henderson, Oeno and Ducie), although only Pitcairn is inhabited. Pitcairn is home to many unique animals and plants, as well as introduced animals, such as a giant Galapagos tortoise called Mrs. T and spectacular fig plants. Among Pitcairn’s unique plants is a unique abutilon, which is extremely rare, but being propagated in a conservation centre on the island. Offshore, the reefs are exceptional. The remoteness of Pitcairn has allowed exquisite coral gardens to survive. These are exceptionally rich and home to vast numbers of reef fish. On Henderson Island, large seabird colonies abound, including populations of four unique birds that occur now where else on Earth.

Britain’s Treasure Islands mini-documentaries

A series of short documentaries designed for on-line release exploring the wildlife, cultures and history of the UK Overseas Territories.

This film is one of forty mini-documentaries made from the footage not used in the broadcast series.

Visit http://www.BritainsTreasureIslands.com to view all 40 mini-documentaries free of charge.

Please note: although complementary to the BBC FOUR series, the 40 short mini-documentaries are not commissioned or editorially overseen by BBC.

To discovery the wildlife, history and cultures of all of the UK Overseas Territories, please visit www.BritainsTreasureIslands.com